In and out the dusky bluebells

Last week the bluebell woods were in full splendour, so get out this weekend to see them if you can.

This is a lovely game to play in Spring, with children weaving in and out of the arches of adult arms, the line growing ever longer.

In and out the dusky bluebells

In and out the dusky bluebells
In and out the dusky bluebells
In and out the dusky bluebells
Who will be my partner?

Tippy tippy tap tap on your shoulder
Tippy tippy tap tap on your shoulder
Tippy tippy tap tap on your shoulder
You will be my partner

About Daily Rhymetime

I am fascinated by children's songs, old and new, from around the world. I run Rhymetime, and am part of Tuning In, and have three children who humour me by listening to all the wonderful tunes I uncover!
This entry was posted in Singing games, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In and out the dusky bluebells

  1. classicclare says:

    the bluebells are Dusty not dusky. Originally who will be my master?

    • Hi! In my groups some sing ‘dusky’, some ‘dusty’. Steve Roud, the author of the wonderful ‘The Lore of the Playground’ writes that some people sing ‘dusting’, some ‘shady’ some ‘rushing’ and more. I suppose that’s the way of the oral tradition.

  2. classicclare says:

    and we used to sing pit a patter pit a patter on my shoulder

Comments are closed.