All around the buttercup

ButtercupsAlthough it’s apparently a traditional song, I first came across  this one in Candy Verney’s The Singing Year, which is a wonderful book full of songs and activities which reflect the changing seasons. In this game, one child is the buttercup, and weaves her way in and out of the other children who are in a circle. At the end of the song the buttercup taps the child she’s next to, and they hold hands and continue weaving in and out.

All around the buttercups, one two three
If you want a cheeky lass, just choose me!

About Daily Rhymetime

I am fascinated by children's songs, old and new, from around the world. I run Rhymetime, and am part of Tuning In, and have three children who humour me by listening to all the wonderful tunes I uncover!
This entry was posted in Singing games, Spring, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.